Staring quarantine in the face

The past three and a half months have been a whirlwind for me. I had a major dip in January, causing a domino effect of chaos! I spent a week in the hospital, and a month in a residential facility, resulting in my two month absence from school. When I came back home, the coronavirus pandemic had really amped up. I had been isolated from school, my family, my friends and living life for about two months and I came back just to be FORCED to be in isolation. I felt like I had just gotten a handle on my life and then it was all robbed from me. I had many days where all I wanted to do was stay in bed, cry and give up. Days started blending together and I felt suffocated in my own home. I fell more behind in school and didn’t want to do anything but stay in bed. My mental health really took a turn for the worst. I felt so upset because I had worked so hard for about two months to feel better and get better, just for it all to fall apart.

I slowly began finding joy in little things. Like starting a new Netflix show, cooking with my mom, working out with a neighbor, going on drives with my sister, planning for college and even starting this blog back up 😉

My mom and I took a trip to Florida to visit my grandpa who had a health problem that needed attention. Being in Florida with him and my mom really made me feel less stir crazy! A change of scenery and being with loved ones really improved my mood.

I suppose I tell you all this because 1) I’m not afraid to share my story, 2) You never know who you can help by sharing what you’ve been through and 3) to show the reality of how mental illness affects people.

I’ve been reading a lot on how important self care is during this time. No, you don’t need to come out of this lockdown with the perfect, golden, six-pack. Just keep up with yourself. Eat some yummy fruit. Change out of those pajamas. Go on a walk in your neighborhood. Things are going to get better so soon! Think how different things were a month ago. School is pretty much out too! Keep your head up and try to enjoy life as much as you can.

All in all, I’m encouraging you not to give up. You may feel like the universe is against you, but I assure you it’s not. Everything happens for a reason. The storm doesn’t last forever and if you’re going through hell.. KEEP GOING!!!

Thank you for reading and I hope you’re all staying healthy and taking care of yourselves!

Published by leahschreiber9

Hey y'all! My name is Leah!I'm really passionate about mental health and I strive to reach and inspire as many people as possible!

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started